Day 23 V&A Musuem London

Since I happened to be in the area, and I had time to kill, AND I had never been inside before, I ventured into the V&A in South Kensington today. The first thing I saw, beyond the information desk, was the gift shop. I had to literally steer myself away from the glittery shop window.

I normally dislike going to museums and galleries. I tend to find myself gazing around, staring at the other visitors, and wondering what I’ll be doing in the evening. This particular trip, on the other hand, was strangely different. I found myself admiring the really pretty exhibits, especially the jewel-ly ones.

I didn’t have my camera with me, so I used my phone for the pictures of my favourites below.

Photo3071

Wine Ewer and Cover – Mughal c1700

Photo3072

‘Knuckle duster’ bag, Alexander McQueen (1969-2010), SS11

Metal

Isn’t it pretty? Normally, I hate clutches, because I have to grip them awkwardly, but I can actually imagine myself using this.

Photo3073

Sandals, Nicholas Krkwood (b1980), SS11

Made in Italy, lace, leather, suede

I spent so long staring at these shoes, visitors started staring at ME. 😀

Photo3076

Evening dress, Pierre Balmain (1914-82), c1950, Paris

Silk, ostrich feathers, sequins, rhinestones

Photo3078

Coat (tailcoat) (wool), waistcoat (silk) and under-waistcoat (cotton), c1815-20, England

I can totally see Mr Darcy from Pride and Prejudice wearing this outfit. Obviously, he would need trousers too…

Photo3081

Teapot with landscape design c1800-50, Qing dynasty, made by Cheng Shihua

Porcelain

Photo3084

Ming dynasty vase, Chinese porcelain, c1580

There’s a sign that says that visitors are allowed to touch this vase. I touched it with my fingertips, and looked around to see if security were coming to stop me haha.

Photo3086

Vase with lotus design, 1984, Boshan Glass factory

Photo3089

Wine cup 1465-88, Ming dynasty, Chenghua reign period

Porcelain, doucai style

Photo3090

Dish with floral design, 1723-35, Qing dynasty, Yongzheng reign period

Porcelain, famille rose (pink enamel) style

Photo3091

Plaque with panda design, 1976

Porcelain

Photo3094

Jar: ‘Guilin landscape’, 1988, Sun Chao (b1929)

Porcelain

Photo3096

‘Composition no.162’, Takeuchi Denji (b1934), 1992

Cast, cut, polished and glued glass

Photo3100

Jacket and trousers, Lee Chung-hie (b1945), graduate of Hongik University in Seoul

Geometric patchwork, jacket front (figured silk glaze)

Photo3104

An oak staircase from Molarix

This isn’t a complete list of all of my favourites in the building, since I only spent about an hour in there today. I can’t wait to go back to the V&A and have a nosey around the other exhibits! What’s your favourite museum/gallery?

Leave a Reply

