Day 38 Adorkable

For the past few weeks, I have been stressed. Like, a whole new kind of stressed, the kind that make you doubt your goals, life and entire existence. This mainly stemmed from starting A Levels. Everyone I talked to seemed to be coping just fine, so fine that I felt inadequate. I couldn’t bring myself to offload my problems onto someone else.

But now I’ve figured out how to bring myself back into a state of happiness, or at the very least, a sense that maybe I’m okay after all. I’ve always loved reading. I can remember Mum banning me from reading, something that would totally shock my English teacher. I don’t, however, enjoy reading every type of book. For instance, I don’t particularly enjoy reading classics, which is unfortunate, since my coursework essay is based on Pride and Prejudice in English. My favourite classic is The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, mainly because it’s the only classic I’ve ever finished (and surprisingly enjoyed) out of school.

No, the books that take me to my happy place are written for teens, which would undoubtedly earn me a raised eyebrow from my English teacher. I don’t know what it is about them. Maybe it’s knowing that there’ll be a good outcome no matter what.

Adorkable by Sarra Manning managed to get me to my happy place. The female protagonist, Jeane, is so lovable. I admit that at times, I wanted her to be normal. I wanted her to see that Michael Lee was just right for her. The book was so good, I stayed up until half twelve just to finish it. I only stopped because the battery on my phone, which I was using as a light, was dying. That’s how much I loved reading it. I would recommend, to any teens that are feeling down, or just anyone who is feeling down, to go forth and read this book.

The morning after I finished the book, I went off to school feeling content. I had Ultraviolet by The Stiff Dylans blasting in my left ear (damn you, broken right earbud). I even almost managed to forget that I had a Biology test that day. Life felt manageable, and it still does.

P.S. Note to self: don’t brag ever again about never being ill to the boy I sit next to in the morning, who’s had a cold for about 3 weeks straight. Karma stuffed itself up my nose in the form of snot, and is currently blocking my nasal cavities. Thank God for tiger balm!

Leave a Reply

