Day 190 Othello at the National Theatre

The other day, I was lucky enough to see Othello at the National Theatre. I have a very important tip for future trips to the theatre: check the performance time for yourself, even if somebody else has told you what time it is at. Even though I was slightly late, the lovely ushers managed to sneak me in with minimal fuss.

Adrian Lester was absolutely brilliant as Othello. His performance had me mesmerised, and I felt pity for his character’s lack of knowledge of Iago’s (played by Rory Kinnear) evil plots. Kinnear, though, was the star of the show. His narration made me feel like I was a part of the play, and his encouragement of Othello’s growing anger towards Cassio (played by Jonathan Bailey) was so evil, yet subtle. The one character that did irritate me was Desdemona, Othello’s wife. I don’t think it was Olivia Vinall’s fault; Desdemona in every production of Othello that I’ve seen so far has annoyed me. I think it may be because the character is just annoying, full stop. But other than Desdemona, the play was on the whole enjoyable, even if I was in the theatre for three whole hours.

Leave a Reply

