Day 195 Pacific Rim

Last night, I went to see Mexican director Guillermo del Toro’s latest blockbuster, Pacific Rim, a sci-fi war movie. Aliens, called Kaiju, were attacking Earth, and the world had come together to fight back with giant human-piloted robots, called Jaeger. Charlie Hunnam plays the part of a robot pilot who lost his brother in an operation, and is paired with Rinko Kikuchi, who is an untrained pilot who was rescued by the commanding officer, played by Idris Elba, many years ago. The special effects were incredible, and the soundtrack matched the action perfectly. It was great not to have too much romance in between the action scenes, as I felt this would have distracted from the main battle between the Jaegers and the Kaijus.

Watching the film in IMAX 3D left me smiling as I walked out of the cinema. I did feel like my eardrums were never going to function properly again, and I spent more time than I would have liked trying to get used to the 3D effects at the beginning of the movie.

Leave a Reply

