Day 247 A Motivational Story

I was going to blog about Tesoro, an ice cream store I visited at the weekend, but the photos I has taken have all been corrupted (yes, every single copy that I had. Bloody computers 😡 ).

A friend told me a really lovely story today as we discussed university. I was despairing about my options, and the story she told me gave me some hope.

A guy who wanted to be successful went to a guru, and told him that he wanted to be successful.

“Come to the beach tomorrow at 7pm,” said the guru.

The guy went to the beach at 7pm the next day, and found the guru there.

“What does this have to do with being successful?” asked the guy.

“Walk into the water,” instructed the guru.

The guy walked into the water, and stopped when the water came up to his waist.

“Further,” said the guru.

The guy carried on walking, and stopped when the water came up to his chest.

“Further,” said the guru.

The guy carried on walking, and stopped when the water came up to his chin.

“Further,” said the guru.

“I can’t, I’ll drown,” said the guy.

The guru joined him in the water, and pushed the guy’s head under the water and held it there. The guy struggled, and gripped the guru’s arms. After a couple of minutes, the guru released the guy’s head, and let him come up out of the water.

“When you were underwater, what were you thinking of?” asked the guru.

“Breathing,” replied the guy.

“Did you think of anything else? Your family? Friends?” asked the guru.

“No,” said the guy.

“So you only thought about breathing,” said the guru.

“Yes,” said the guy.

“When, and only when, you want to be successful as much as you wanted to breath, you will be successful,” said the guru.

Leave a Reply

