Day 294 “You Don’t Understand”

At first, it was just the one person telling me “You don’t understand…”, and I was kind of okay with that.

The next person who told me “You don’t understand…” made me think, “Why tell me if I won’t understand?”

The next person who told me “You don’t understand…” made me grind my teeth.

And now it’s turned into some sort of catchphrase among my friends, except some of them are fond of adding in “okay?” to the end of it, i.e. “You don’t understand, okay?” I really want to ban this stupid phrase. Why would you tell me about trivial problems if you think I won’t understand. In fact, that’s rather insulting, because it’s insinuating that I’m not capable of being empathetic.

Maybe I’ll just have to put up with it, but if it starts getting worse (like if they say it in a whiny voice oh wait they already do), I might have to do something about it. I don’t know what yet, but I’ll think of something.

Do any of you have any irritating phrases you’d like to get rid of? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

