Day 323 If Girls Sang Guys’ Songs

I was listening to the deluxe version of One Direction’s album Take Me Home (shh!), and a thought popped into my head. They sing A LOT about girls, which is unsurprising, since teenage girls are their main listeners (I think). I know Tiffany Alvord and other YouTube female cover singers cover their songs a lot, and they all slightly alter the lyrics so that they’re singing about guys.

Then it got me thinking that when a guy sings “Girl I get so close but now you’ll never know, Baby I loved you first” (From 1D’s Loved You First), it’s seen as endearing. But if a girl sings “Boy I get so close but now you’ll never know, Baby I loved you first”, it’s possessive, and slightly creepy. Now when I sing along to One Direction’s songs, I can’t help singing along in my creepiest voice, which makes me crack up every single time.

Leave a Reply

