Day 328 Cotton Eye Joe

One of my happiest memories of primary school is one that involves PE, which is weird, because I’ve never been a fan of exercise. This particular PE lesson involved partner dancing, which to primary school children seemed terrifying, and there were lots of “EWWWWW!”s at hand-holding. I can’t remember what kind of dancing we were learning, but I definitely remember one of the songs, because it’s such an old-fashioned fun song. I’ve only recently watched the music video for the Rednex’s cover of Cotton Eye Joe, which is crazy, because it came out in 1994. It makes me laugh, and also makes me smile at the memory of being little and grossed out at the idea of holding a boy’s hand.

Leave a Reply

