Day 370 Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I’ve never read a novel about cancer before, let alone one from the perspective of a young person who has cancer. But now I’m glad I have, even though The Fault in Our Stars, narrated by 16 year old Hazel, made me cry. John Green made me care about every single character, because they were all so real, and weren’t made to be a metaphor for something else, which often happens in novels. I appreciated the way Green portrayed the cancer patients as ordinary people, and not brave or courageous as cancer patients are so often presented. Also, going off on a tangent, I don’t know if it’s just me, but I find that lots of young adult books written by American authors have the same sort of style to them, like the description, and the characters are often witty in a grown-up sort of way.

The UK release date for the movie is 20 June 2014. I’m pretty sure I’ll have completed my exams by then, and it’ll be a good way to celebrate the start of my summer break.

Read the book, and I’m pretty sure you’ll also need a tissue (or your shirt sleeve. I had to use my shirt sleeve to wipe my eyes) by the time you finish the book.

Leave a Reply

